

Minutes

Continued from August 4th

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting – August 11, 2022 @ 12-1 pm

- 1. Roll Call <u>Board Members Present</u>: Glenn Acosta (President), Mo Bina (Vice President), Mischelle Mikulas (Secretary), Margott Hinostroza (Treasurer), Lonice Thomas (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Tech Support), Steve Sealy (Supervisory), Dave Walbeck (Professional Unit Director), Darrell Hatch (Professional Supervisory), Dave DeVase (Energy Recovery Director), Dwain Tucker (Director at Large), Basil Hewitt (Director at Large), Rebecca Urac (Director at Large); Quorum established. <u>AFSCME Representative Present</u>: Luis Schmidt
- 8. Grievances (attached)
 - a. Professional Unit (Margott Hinostroza) Request to reinstate vacation accrual starting from the student intern hire date. Per the MOU (July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2022) in effect during the grievance filing, employees are entitled to 40 additional hours of vacation after 25 years of service. Student interns that transitioned to fulltime status prior to 2003 began accruing vacation based on the intern hire date. Management denied the grievance stating issue was resolved through negotiations. Margott is grieving different points not used in other grievance. REQUEST: Arbitration. (Approved on Aug 4)
 - b. Tech Support Unit Request to return the vacation time lost between 2021 to 2022 due to carryover limits for 17 employees. Efforts to resolve this issue with Chuck Boehmke were unsuccessful. Jennifer has rejected the grievance since it was filed after the 12 days when Acosta met with Boehmke. STATUS: Will speak to Ferrante.

No action taken.

- c. Tech Support Unit (Tony James) Request to remove language in the 50% sick leave section of the three new MOUs (professional, supervisory and professional supervisory units) that Tony James believes refers to him. Management denies the grievance because the Tech Support MOU has not changed. DISCUSSION ITEM.
 - Dave Walbeck motioned to not proceed further; Steve Seeley seconded the motion; Motion passed. Ayes: Dave Walbeck, Steve Sealy, Rebecca Urac, Basil Hewitt, Jose Mendoza, Darrel Hatch, Dwain Tucker, David DeVase; Nayes: Mo Bina

9. Consideration to retain legal counsel for grievances in Item No. 6

Recommendation: Retain Rothner, Segall & Greenstone at \$220 per hour to review the abovementioned grievances and render a legal opinion at a "not-to-exceed" budget of \$4,000. Retainage proposal attached.

Steve Sealy motioned to retain Rothner, Segall & Greenstone at \$220/hour with a cap of \$4,000. Motion seconded by David DeVase. Unanimous yes vote.

10. August 2022 Newsletter (attached) – For discussion

No action taken.

- 11. Ad Hoc Committees For discussion
 - a. **Union Constitution Committee**. This committee will take a close look at our bylaws and make recommendations for changes. [2022]

Chair = Jose Mendoza; Other members: Rebecca Urac, Dwain Tucker, Dave DeVase, Dave Walbeck, Greg Agee

b. **HR Audit Committee**. This committee will oversee the third-party consultant's work in comparing our promotions process to other agencies. [2022-2023]

Chair = Dwain Tucker; Other members: Greg Agee, Mischelle Mikulas, Basil Hewitt

c. **Salary Survey Committee**. This committee will oversee the third-party consultant's work on the salary survey. [2023]

Chair = Steve Sealy; Other members = Mischelle Mikulas

d. Improvements Committee. This committee will look at what areas in the MOU need change or improvement. This effort will help in the next negotiation.
[2023]

Chair = Rebecca Urac; Other members = Greg Agee

- 12. Other Items Non3e
- 13. Next meeting September 1, 2022 @ 12 pm via Zoom