

## **MINUTES**

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting – May 4, 2023 @ 12-1 pm

## 1. Roll Call

- a. Glenn Acosta (President), Patricia Hsia (Vice President), Mischelle Mikulas (Secretary), Steve Sealy (Supervisory Unit Director), Dave Walbeck (Professional Unit Director), Dave DeVase (Energy Recovery), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support Unit Director), Christina Rocha (White Collar Unit Director), Dwain Tucker (Director at Large),
- b. Quorum established.
- c. AFSCME Representative Present: Luis Schmidt
- d. <u>Present During the Meeting but not Present During Roll Call</u>: Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory Unit Director).
- e. Guests: Alan Shanahan President of AFSCME L1902
- 2. Approval of Minutes April 6, 2023 Will be voted on next month.
- 3. Approval of Treasurer's Report March 2023 -- Will be voted on next month.
- Authorize Treasurer to request HR to provide the monthly amounts sent to AFSCME and number of employees reported. Local 18
   Motion made by Dave DeVase to approve Treasurer's Report. Dwain Tucker seconded motion. Motion unanimously passed.
- 5. Approval of \$704 Payment to Rother, Segall & Greenstone (Preeti PERB charge, other) Motion made by Dwain Tucker to approve the \$704 payment to Rother, Segall, & Greenstone. Motion seconded by Dave DeVase. Motion unanimously passed.
- 6. Establish budget for Campaign Contributions.
  Look up New Agenda for the title of this. Establish budget for Campaign Contributions.
  No action taken.
- 7. Campaign contribution to County Supervisor Janice Hahn

Motion made by Dwain Tucker to contribute \$1,500 to Janice Hahn's campaign. Motion seconded by Ted Brodeur. Motion passed. Ayes: Patricia Hsia, Steve Sealy, Dave Walbeck, Jose Mendoza, Christina Rocha, Dwain Tucker, Ted Brodeur. No's: Dave DeVase, Mischelle Mikulas

Motion made by Dave De Vase that the maximum campaign contribution for any candidate is \$1,500. Motion seconded by Dwain Tucker. Motion unanimously passed.

## 8. Districts/HR Proposals

a. Rideshare program revisions Motion:

Motion made by Patricia Hsia to approve rideshare policy. Motion seconded by Ted Brodeur. Yes Votes: Ted, Jose, Devase, and Steve Sealey. No Votes: Dave Walbeck, Patricia Hsia, Dwain Tucker, Mischelle Mikulas, and Cristina Rocha

b. COVID Policy revisions

Motion Failed.

Motion made by Dwain Tucker to ask Jennifer to remove any penalties in the Covid-19 policy. Motion seconded by Jose Mendoza. Motion passed unanimously.

c. Payroll Specialist (job being moved from HR to Financial Management)

Motion made by Ted Brodeur to approve the Payroll Specialist position to be moved from Human Resources to Financial Management. Motion seconded by Dave DeVase. Motion passed unanimously.

d. Project Engineer Classifications (adding titles based on PE license) Motion made by Dave DeVase to reject proposal to add additional titles based on the type of PE license. Motion seconded by Dave DeVase. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion made by Dwain Tucker to send survey to the Professional Engineering Unit to ask if they want the current title of Civil Engineer to be consolidated into the broader title of Professional Engineer or divided up into the specific title of the license. Motion was seconded by Patricia Hsia. Motion passed unanimously.

- e. Solid Waste Management Proposal for Engineering Techs No action taken.
- 9. Report from AFSCME Representative
  - a. Grievances
    - Lost vacation hours (Tech Support Unit)
    - Out-of-class pay (Supervisory Unit)
  - b. Effects of new LED lights on staff (4/24/23 presentation to management attached)
    - Nathan has a plan ...

Motion made by Dwain to approve Nathan Heick's plan. Motion seconded by Mischelle. Motion passed. Yes Votes: Dwain, Mischelle, Ted, Cris, and Jose. No Votes: Patricia, Dave W, Steve Sealey, Dave D.

- 10. Reports from Ad Hoc Committees No Action Taken
  - a. Jose Mendoza, Chair of Constitution Committee –
  - b. Becky Urac, Chair of Improvements Committee –
  - c. Dwain Tucker, Chair of HR Audit Committee -
  - d. Steve Sealy, Chair of Salary Survey Committee -
- 11. Other matters
- 12. Next meeting June 1, 2023 @ 12 pm

Part 2 of this meeting will continue May 17<sup>th</sup> at 12 noon.