

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting – April 3, 2025 @ 12-1 pm

1. Roll Call

Patricia Hsia (President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary), Artin Laleian (Professional Unit Director), Karla Ellison (Professional Supervisory Unit Director), Rebecca Urac (Director at Large), Eric Krikorian (Director at Large), Diana Pineda (Director at Large). Quorum established.

Joined after roll call: David DeVase (Energy Recovery Unit Director), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support Unit Director),

Excused absence: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory Unit Director), Cristina Rocha (White Collar Director)

AFSCME Representative – Luis Schmidt

2. Approval of minutes for March 2025 meeting

Motion made by Yanez to approve minutes, seconded by Krikorian. Motion passed with 7-0 vote.

3. Approve Treasurer's Reports for March 2025

Motion made by Hope to approve minutes, seconded by Ellison. Motion passed with 7-0 vote.

- 4. JLMC postponed until April 15th. Management has confirmed attendance.
- 5. Report from AFSCME Representative
 - The back and forth regarding MEC is ongoing.
 - Certain HR staff members have displayed resistance to having union representatives
 present during meetings with employees. These staff members cannot legally preclude
 union attendance.
- 6. Reports from Ad Hoc Committees
 - Eric Krikorian, Chair of Constitution Committee:

Will schedule meeting this month.

Rebecca Urac, Chair of Improvements Committee:

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Karla Ellison (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian

A template for writing up inequities will be distributed shortly.

• Steve Sealy, Chair of Inequities Committee:

(Per Hsia: Nine inequity cases to be submitted by end of April for P, S and PS units. Cases for remaining units due by end of year.

- Rommel Garcia, Chair of Political Action Committee: Absent.
- Wendy Yanez/Diana Pineda, Chair of Meet/Greet Committee:

Potential locations being investigated.

• David DeVase, Chair of Grievances Committee:

Letter to stewards has been drafted and is being reviewed.

7. Other business

- A candidate for Honorary Mayor of San Pedro has requested financial support. He will be invited to speak at next Board meeting.
- Jeff Pedersen would like to attend the AFSCME organizing event in Denver, May 30 June 1:

Motion made by Krikorian to reimburse Pedersen for transportation, room and board and one day of work time, not to exceed \$2000. Seconded by Urac. Motion passed with 9-0 vote.

Next meetings

- a. May 1 (International Workers' Day)
- b. June 11
- c. July 3

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Karla Ellison (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian