

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting - August 1, 2024 @ 12-1 pm

1. Roll Call

Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary), Stephen Sealy (Supervisory Unit Director), Artin Laleian (Professional Unit Director), David DeVase (Energy Recovery Unit Director), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support Unit Director), Rebecca Urac (Director at Large), Darrell Hatch (Director at Large), Eric Krikorian (Director at Large).

Quorum established.

Present during meeting but not present during roll call: Cristina Rocha (White Collar Unit Director)

AFSCME Representative Present: Luis Schmidt

- 2. Farewell remarks from Darrell Hatch, outgoing Director at Large)
- 3. Rommel Garcia and Eric Krikorian sworn in as Vice-President and Director at Large, respectively.
- 4. Approval of minutes for July 2 meeting

Motion made by Laleian to approve minutes, seconded by Sealy. Motion passed with 11-0 vote.

5. Approve Treasurer's Report for June 2024

Motion made by Urac to approve report, seconded by Hatch. Motion passed with 11-0 vote.

- 6. Council 36 and International Conference, Aug 15-16, downtown Los Angeles
 - Four delegates to be sent to International Conference: Patricia Hsia, Eric Krikorian, Rommel Garcia, Stephanie Ly
 - Five delegates to be sent to Council 36 Conference: Patricia Hsia, Eric Krikorian, Rommel Garcia, Stephanie Ly, Greg Agee

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian

- Executive Board of Council 36 has called for a vote to increase union dues by \$6/month. Two-thirds vote by delegates required to sanction increase.
- Motion by Mendoza, seconded by Garcia, to allow Local 18 delegates to decide how to vote based on information gathered at Conference. . Motion passed with 11-0 vote.

7. Discussion on vocal members

Contrary to the claims of some members, Board elections have been conducted in compliance with AFSCME election manual. Continuing requests for responses shall receive a reply of "The matter is closed."

- 8. Report from AFSCME Representative
- 9. Reports from Ad Hoc Committees
 - a. Jose Mendoza, Chair of Constitution Committee: No report.
 - b. Becky Urac, Chair of Improvements Committee: Negotiations complete so Committee will be closed. Urac will maintain email account to which suggestions for future negotiations can be sent.
 - c. Steve Sealy, Chair of Salary Survey Committee: Since in future, Management will be looking at total compensation rather than salary alone for Supervisory, White Collar and Technical Support units, Committee will be renamed to Inequities Committee. This change is also fitting since PEPRA employees continue to become a larger proportion of Districts employees.

Next meetings

- a. September 5
- b. October 3

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian