

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting – February 6, 2025 @ 12-1 pm

1. Roll Call

Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Greg Hope (Secretary), Stephen Sealy (Supervisory Unit Director), Artin Laleian (Professional Unit Director), Cristina Rocha (White Collar Director), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support Unit Director), Rebecca Urac (Director at Large), Eric Krikorian (Director at Large), Diana Pineda (Director at Large). Quorum established.

AFSCME Representative – absent.

2. Approval of minutes for January meeting

Motion made by Sealy to approve minutes, seconded by Urac. Motion passed with 9-0 vote.

- 3. Approve Treasurer's Reports for January 2025 Yanez absent postponed until March meeting.
- 4. Proposal to secure Post Office box for correspondence Yanez absent postponed until March meeting.
- 5. Report from AFSCME Representative Luis Schmidt absent.
- 6. Reports from Ad Hoc Committees
 - Jose Mendoza, Chair of Constitution Committee:
 - Mendoza resigns position due to time commitments. To be replaced by Krikorian.
 - Becky Urac, Chair of Improvements Committee: No report.
 - Steve Sealy, Chair of Inequities Committee:
 - Three proposals to address inequities received. Analysis will begin after Council 36 convention.
 - Proposals to address inequities in TS, WC and ER must be prepared and submitted prior to Jan. 1, 2026.
 - Proposal templates need to be reviewed and standardized.
 - Rommel Garcia, Chair of Political Action Committee: No report.
 - Wendy Yanez, Chair of Meet/Greet Committee: Absent.
 - David DeVase, Chair of Grievances Committee: Absent.

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Karla Ellison (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian

7. New business

- HR moving ahead with plan to advertise jobs outside agency when only one candidate applies for position.
- Monday's Town Hall will be posted on AFSCME website.
- Members are being told that payment upon retirement for unused sick time will not include longevity bonus. Actual policy needs to be investigated. May be potential issue for negotiation in future.

Next meetings

- a. March 6
- b. April 3
- c. May 1 (International Workers' Day)

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Karla Ellison (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian