

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting – May 1, 2025 @ 12-1 pm

1. Roll Call

Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Greg Hope (Secretary), Stephen Sealy (Supervisory Unit Director), Artin Laleian (Professional Unit Director), Karla Ellison (Professional Supervisory Unit Director), Cristina Rocha (White Collar Director), Rebecca Urac (Director at Large), Eric Krikorian (Director at Large).

Quorum established.

Excused absence: Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), David DeVase (Energy Recovery Unit Director), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support Unit Director), Diana Pineda (Director at Large).

AFSCME Representative - Luis Schmidt

- 2. Guest Speaker Andrew Perry Candidate for Honorary Mayor of San Pedro
 - Race for Honorary Mayor is a fund-raising event for charity sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce.
 - One of Andrew's charities is Labor Community Services that provides support for unemployed and underemployed workers.
 - Motion made by Sealy to donate \$500 for campaign sponsorship, seconded by Urac.
 Motion passed with 8-0 vote.
- 3. Approval of minutes for April 2025 meeting

Motion made by Ellison to approve minutes, seconded by Sealy. Motion passed with 8-0 vote.

- 4. Approve Treasurer's Reports for April 2025 Postponed due to absence of Treasurer.
- 5. JLMC meeting held April 15th
 - Three main topics discussed without satisfactory resolution. A major disagreement concerns reimbursement for purchase of protective boots.
 - Motion made by Krikorian, seconded by Ellison, to appoint Mendoza to survey managers to ascertain which employees are expected to need boots. Motion passed with 8-0 vote.
- 6. Report from AFSCME Representative

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Karla Ellison (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian

7. Reports from Ad Hoc Committees

• Eric Krikorian, Chair of Constitution Committee:

Planned meeting postponed. To be rescheduled.

- Rebecca Urac, Chair of Improvements Committee: No report.
- Steve Sealy, Chair of Inequities Committee:

Nine inequity proposals for Professional, Supervisory and Professional Supervisory Units were submitted to HR. Cases for remaining units due by end of year.

- Rommel Garcia, Chair of Political Action Committee: No report.
- Wendy Yanez/Diana Pineda, Chair of Meet/Greet Committee: Absent.
- David DeVase, Chair of Grievances Committee: Absent.

8. Other business

Ellison pointed out that, whereas sleeping on Districts premises is considered an egregious violation of the Code of Conduct, that fact does not appear in any of the Districts' written policies.

Next meetings

- a. June 11
- b. July 3

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Karla Ellison (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian