

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting - November 7, 2024 @ 12-1 pm

1. Roll Call

Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary), Stephen Sealy (Supervisory Unit Director), Artin Laleian (Professional Unit Director), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support Unit Director, Rebecca Urac (Director at Large), Eric Krikorian (Director at Large), Diana Pineda (Director at Large).

Excused absences: David DeVase (Energy Recovery Unit Director), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory Unit Director)

Quorum established.

AFSCME Representative Present: Luis Schmidt

- 2. Diana Pineda sworn in as Director at Large.
- 3. Approval of minutes for October meeting

Motion made by Yanez to approve minutes, seconded by Sealy. Motion passed with 11-0 vote.

4. Approve Treasurer's Report for September 2024

Motion made by Leleian to approve report, seconded by Urac. Motion passed with 11-0 vote.

- 5. Proposal to secure Post Office box for correspondence
 - Correspondence currently being delivered to/mailed from private homes of former and current Board members.
 - Yanez will investigate prices and report.
- 6. Proposed new position Senior Public Affairs Specialist

Public Information staff members are reviewing description and will provide comments.

7. Report from AFSCME Representative

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian

8. Reports from Ad Hoc Committees

- Jose Mendoza, Chair of Constitution Committee: No report.
- Becky Urac, Chair of Improvements Committee: No report.
- Steve Sealy, Chair of Inequities Committee: No report
- Rommel Garcia, Chair of Political Action Committee: Developing strategies for engaging with potential allies outside of election canvassing and phone banking.
- Discussion of establishment of "meet-and-greet" committee: No volunteers.

9. Elections

Motion made by DeVase, seconded by Sealy, to authorize the Energy Recovery Unit to seek legal.

Next meetings

- a. December 5
- b. January 9

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers: Patricia Hsia (President), Rommel Garcia (Vice-President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)

Unit Directors: Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory),

David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch, Eric Krikorian