

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting – June 6, 2024 @ 12-1 pm

1. Roll Call

Patricia Hsia (President), Greg Hope (Secretary), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Artin Laleian (Professional Unit Director), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory Unit Director), Rebecca Urac (Director at Large).

Quorum established.

Present During the Meeting but not Present During Roll Call: Cristina Rocha (White Collar Unit Director), Darrell Hatch (Director at Large).

AFSCME Representative Present: Luis Schmidt

2. Online meeting with Alhambra City Council candidate Noya Wang

Wang is a former member of AFSCME Local 18 and requested Union support for the election this November.

Motion was made by Brodeur, seconded by Urac, to contribute \$750 to Wang campaign. Motion carried with no opposing votes.

A discussion followed concerning Lula Holmes' request at the May 2nd meeting for support in the Carson mayoral election. Carson sits on the LACSD Board's Personnel Committee and has been supportive of the Union. Motion was made by Urac, seconded by Hope, to contribute \$1000 to the Holmes campaign. Motion carried with no opposing votes.

3. Approve minutes for May 2nd meeting

After a discussion of the level of detail required in the minutes regarding the tallying of votes, it was determined that the Board Secretary may use their discretion in that regard. Minutes will be redistributed for review after potentially being revised and submitted for approval at July 2 meeting.

4. Approve Treasurer's Report for April 2024

Report included an incorrect date. Motion to approve report pending correction made by Laleian and seconded by Hatch. Motion passed unanimously.

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers:	Patricia Hsia (President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)
Unit Directors:	Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory), David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch

5. Discussion of removal of G. Agee as steward

No objections were voiced by members previously absent from removal vote.

- 6. Report from AFSCME Representative
- 7. Reports from Ad Hoc Committees
 - a. Jose Mendoza, Chair of Constitution Committee: Absent
 - b. Becky Urac, Chair of Improvements Committee: No report.
 - c. Greg Hope, Chair of HR Audit Committee: No current business so Committee will be closed.
 - d. Steve Sealy, Chair of Salary Survey Committee: No report
- 8. New business

Dwain Tucker resigned as Director At-Large. His position will be included on the same ballot as that for Vice President.

Yanez discussed an apparent discrepancy in union dues percentages according to financial documents from local and national organizations. Luis Schmidt will investigate and provide explanatory documentation.

Normal Board meeting falls on July 4th this year so will be moved to July 2nd.

Next meetings

- a. July 2
- b. August 1

2024 BOARD MEMBERS

Officers:Patricia Hsia (President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)Unit Directors:Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory),
David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)

At-Large Directors: Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch