AFSCME Endorsements: 2020 March Primary

The Illinois Primary Election in March will provide an opportunity to choose candidates who will fight for workers’ rights in the November election. Make your voice heard and VOTE! Early voting is underway! Find out where to vote early in your community.

The following candidates have been endorsed by AFSCME Illinois PEOPLE:*


  • Congressional District 1: Bobby L. Rush (D)
  • Congressional District 2: Robin Kelly (D)
  • Congressional District 3: Daniel William Lipinski (D)
  • Congressional District 5: Mike Quigley (D)
  • Congressional District 7: Danny K. Davis (D)
  • Congressional District 8: Raja Krishamoorthi (D)
  • Congressional District 11: Bill Foster (D)
  • Congressional District 13: Betsy Dirksen Londrigan (D)


Illinois Senate

  • Senate District 1: Antonio “Tony” Muñoz (D)
  • Senate District 10: Robert Martwick (D)
  • Senate District 13: Robert Peters (D)
  • Senate District 22: Cristina Castro (D)

Illinois House of Representatives

  • House District 1: Aaron Ortiz (D)
  • House District 2: Theresa Mah (D)
  • House District 3: Nidia Carranza (D)
  • House District 9: Lakesia Collins (D)
  • House District 10: Jawaharial “Omar” Williams (D)
  • House District 16: Yehiel “Mark” Kalish (D)
  • House District 20: Michelle Darbro (D)
  • House District 26: Kam Buckner (D)
  • House District 27: Justin Q. Slaughter (D)
  • House District 29: Thaddeus Jones (D)
  • House District 31: Mary Flowers (D)
  • House District 32: Andre Thapedi (D)
  • House District 40: Jaime Andrade (D)
  • House District 41: Janet Yang Rohr (D)
  • House District 54: Maggie Trevor (D)
  • House District 60: Rita Mayfield (D)
  • House District 65: Martha Paschke (D)
  • House District 66: Suzanne Ness (D)
  • House District 79: Charlene Eads (D)
  • House District 83: Barbara Hernandez (D)
  • House District 115: Johnnie Ray Smith II (R)


  • 1st Supreme Court District (Freeman): P. Scott Neville
  • 1st Appellate Court District (Neville): Michael Hyman
  • 1st Appellate Court District (Simon): John Griffin


State’s Attorney, Kim Foxx (D)

Rock Island

  • County Board, Joshua Ehrmann (D)
  • County Board, Will Tolmie (D)
  • County Board, Brad Beeding (D)


  • County Chairman, Joe Chiarelli (R)
  • County Board, Robert Young (D)
  • County Board, John Penney (R)


  • County Board, Matt Hansen (D)
  • County Board, Susan Starrett (R)


Circuit Clerk, Cindy Svanda (D)

*NOTE: AFSCME does not normally make endorsements in uncontested races.